I am on my new eReader getting ready to read my new book.  I don't see my book, but I see the buttons below.  What does this mean?  How would this effect you as a teacher if I am your student?  Is this an advantage or a disadvantage? 

Note:  Your post must be approved by me first before it appears for everyone to see. 
Rosie
6/26/2012 07:43:15 am

The book is online not on the device. It means the book is unaccessible to the student, and my lesson plan has to be revised. It is a disadvantage if you don't have wireless access to see the book.

Stacey
6/26/2012 08:25:07 am

The book was uploaded to the Cloud. If there is no wifi at the school the student cannot download their book. This could be a disadvantage at the time, however there are ways to download your books so that you can read them offline or online.

Scott Ramser
6/26/2012 08:31:00 am

I see this as really confusing for the students and myself included. I already find it to be very frustrating when somewhere does not have wi-fi. It seems as if so much of my life revolves around the internet. I too have had an experience like this. In order to get around this, I sometimes will just save the site as a PDF and read it later. Also, I have downloaded a youtube downloading program in order that I can download and watch videos when I am not online because it seems that I run into the same problem you had all the time.

Kristin Vogel
6/26/2012 08:36:07 am

The cloud button represents your ability to connect to the Internet, while the device button represents the actual eReader. This effects your ability to find the book because the book cannot be read without Interent connection. This can be a disadvantage because you have to rely on the connection to be able to access the book.

Scott Ramser
6/26/2012 08:37:34 am

I see this affecting me as a teacher when we run into the fact that we are moving toward all the students having iPads in the classroom. I know that we are moving toward all the text books being on the iPad and not being able to access the book at any time would be terrible. I also see this as a disadvantage. I know that people are really wanting to move toward this, but I don't feel that comfortable with the cloud. Having all my information in one really large server, doesn't make me comfortable. Whether it be a textbook or a credit card number.

Megan
6/26/2012 08:40:39 am

The books are located in the cloud. If the internet connection is down then this would be a disadvantage for the students. They would be unable to locate the book they were looking for. Also if the students checked the eReader out to take home for any reason they wouldn't be able to access the book without the proper connection. This would be another device that would be purchased and not provide the best results and outcomes for the students' needs.

Tiffany Brown
6/26/2012 08:42:48 am

This would be a huge disadvantage for my students who may not have internet access, high speed internet or wifi at their homes.

I do think e-readers are a great way to supplement for textbooks and hope that textbooks will become obsolete.

Nell Gibson
6/26/2012 08:46:51 am

After talking to you tonight, I learned that the book is not available because it is "in the clouds". This would be a disadvantage to you as a teacher if you had your students assigned to read a book that could not be pulled up. In order to pull a book up on e-reader that has i cloud on it, you would have to have the internet. If the internet went down, you wouldn't be able to pull it up.

Kristen Ditsler
6/26/2012 08:48:36 am

After our discussion this evening I realized that your book is "in the clouds" not on the device. This would effect us as teachers because when we assign different books to our students to read on their readers they wouldn't be able to locate the books because they are in the clouds.

Leslie Scherer
6/26/2012 08:56:09 am

The "device" means the book is saved onto the hardware and "cloud" means it was saved in the clouds or out into cyberspace. Downloading from the clouds from various ages and numerous students could cause all types of problems.

6/26/2012 08:56:16 am

You can download the program to your device or to the clouds. When you download, it can be shared with all of your devices. Cloud = storage. It is somewhere in the clouds - somewhere on the internet stored somewhere.

Blogs are a great way to talk with students and address problems quickly.

Ryan Schaeffer
6/26/2012 09:05:34 am

According to this scenario, the teacher would have difficulty bringing the document or lesson up if they did not have the materials saved to the handheld device. You would have to be connected to wifi in order to access the cloud. If you saved the materials to the cloud and did not have access to the wifi you would not be able to bring up the materials. An advantage would be the avaliability of a handheld device. If everything is working correctly this would be great.

Chris Klakamp
6/26/2012 09:07:24 am

This means that when the book was downloaded,it was saved somewhere on the internet. It was actually not downlaoded and saved to the device itself. So, it is not easily retrievable by the student. This would not be a good situation as a teacher. I would have to take time to find the book for the student. This would not be bad if it was only the case for one student. However, the problem would occur when 24 other students had the same problem. This is when one set of hands would not be enough. I think that this is definately a disadvantage. It would be much better if the book was downloaded to the device itself. This would make it much easier to access the book for the students. Technology can be great when it is working the way that it is supposed to be. When problems like this is occur, this is when technology can be a pain for the teacher and the student. I can see where ereaders are good, but in my opinion nothing replaces a book in your hand.


Comments are closed.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2012

    Categories

    All