These two pieces do different things even though they look similar.   When these cast iron pieces were made they were the newest and greatest for their time.   Before they were made of wood.   Can you tell me what they do?

6/27/2012 08:25:22 am

I believe that is a butter churner.

Reply
Scott Ramser
6/27/2012 08:35:23 am

I think that they are presses. I would believe that they could be used to press things such as grapes or other things that would be used to compress the item to get the liquid out.

Reply
Ryan Schaeffer
6/27/2012 08:53:46 am

grape crusher for wine making.

Reply
Chris Klakamp
6/27/2012 09:06:27 am

I want to say that this is a duck crusher. I saw an apparatus that looked like this on Pawn Stars. It was used to crush a duck to get the blood out. Then, the duck blood was served as a delicasy somewhere in Europe. I am not sure this is what I am looking at, but it is my best guess based on seeing something like this on TV.

Reply
Rosie Bertles
6/27/2012 09:10:32 am

I think they are food grinders. It looks like there is a way to turn the cylinder and a port for the product to come out of once it is ground.

Reply
Kristin Vogel
6/27/2012 09:14:22 am

Based on the comments of our fellow classmates, I am sticking with a grape gridner for wine. Otherwise, I would guess that it is a grinder of some sort.

Reply
Leslie Scherer
6/27/2012 09:16:30 am

The only reason I have any clue what those things are is because you explained it to the class. They are a lard presser and an apple cider press.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2012

    Categories

    All