What did you learn tonight?  Day 4

Also which website did you like the best and why?
Scott Ramser
6/27/2012 08:41:23 am

I feel that I learned alot about how computers came about, are used and you had mentioned what we can expect from computers in the future such as the "dumb something". I don't know if I really like this or not. I don't like the fact that one server could be taken out and thus all of the information would be jeopordized.

As far as the sites that you showed to us. The only one that I think that I could use in the classroom is the scholastic one that starts short stories. I teach high school, which this site does not allow you to do, but I still could use this as idea generators. I do like the one with the black screen and the short stories (the one that you posted 2 times), but I think it would be one that I would use more personally.

Reply
Schweitzer
7/5/2012 11:33:41 am

the term is Dumb Terminals.

Reply
Kristin Vogel
6/27/2012 09:09:33 am

I learned about how technology is made, how it works, and how it has evolved. I also learned about some really fabulous new technology that I have never heard of. I look forward to trying some of these new means of technology personally and professionally.

The websites I looked at the most were mathway.com and ESLvideo.com. I teach third grade at en ESL magnet school and I also departmentalize with another teacher so I am in charge of teaching math. The math website is good to have that you can show students how to answer the problem and you can also quickly verifyan answer to a problem that you may ask students aloud. The ESL video website is amazing and I cannot wait to share it with others at my school for our newcomer students. I also really liked the Scholastic Story Starters website.It allowed you to spin the wheel and it gave you a format, audience, and purpose for writing.

Reply
6/27/2012 09:12:05 am

I learned all about the components of a computer. I also learned about binary code.

I really liked the http://mathway.com/. It provides tons of samples, you can create websites, etc. I think it would be a good site for students to practice their math skills because it also provides answers.

Reply
Leslie Scherer
6/27/2012 09:12:41 am

My head is swimming with computer information from the Journey Inside information. I did like to know some basic information, but to go deeper may be beyond me. I appreciate not being responsible for that amount of material with that content.

My favorite website is http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/storystarters/storystarter1.htm

I struggle with creative writing and these prompts are a wonderful tool to excite my students. I love the drawing portion and the interactive choice options that is in the format of a game.

Reply
Megan Doan
6/27/2012 09:14:00 am


I was able to gain a greater understanding of basic technology terms and ideas. The website I liked the most was the story starters website from scholastic. http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/storystarters/storystarter1.htm I will use this in my classroom this year.

Reply
Stacey
6/27/2012 09:15:29 am

I learned about the different parts that are involved with a computer. I also learned about the different kinds of technologies that are available for my classroom as well as for my personal use.

My favorite website was the story starters. What a creative way to have students create a story. This would be great for those students who struggle with getting started.

Reply
Tiffany Brown
6/27/2012 09:16:18 am

I learned all about how a computer and internet operates (some of which was over my head).

I also learned about some new technology that is going to be showing up in the next few years.

I also visited http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/storystarters/storystarter1.htm

I thought this was a great website for free writing choice as a whole class or individually. This would also be a great site to use as homework.

Reply
6/27/2012 09:16:37 am

I learned how computers use a special code of their own to express the digital information they process. Which is called the binary code because it consists of only two symbols—0s and 1s. (The "bi" in "binary" means two.) On is 1, off is 0. Everything you say to a computer has to be put in terms of these two numbers.

Reply
Chris Klakamp
6/27/2012 09:18:36 am

I thought tonight that a lot of the presentations were very helpful. I would say that I had no idea about Binary Math before tonight. I would say that I am not an expert on it now, but I do have a little bit of an idea how it works now. Also, I thought that it was interesting to hear about the different processors that are used in computer today.
As far as the websites go, I would say that I liked the scribble maps website the best. I think that this would be great for Social Studies. I could have the students trace the route Lewis and Clark took or any other explorer. This would be good because the students would actually have to trace the route themselves and not just see it in the book. Overall, I thought this was a great class tonight and I learned alot.

Reply
Ryan Schaeffer
6/27/2012 09:18:52 am

Tonight I learned a bit about the scribblemaps website. This will be used in the class to present on Explorers and Navigation. This will take the place of paper and pencil. I also was informed of many aspect of the computer that I had never heard of prior to this class.

Reply
Rosie Bertles
6/27/2012 09:18:57 am

I learned a lot about the hardware for computers. I am more familiar with software. I think it is important to understand how the hardware works together. Sometimes repairs can be quick if a person knows what to look for or what to look at. It was also interesting to look at the sites for applying. The ESL videos and Scholastic Site that has a great variety of interactive "games" for teachers.

Reply
Nell Gibson
6/27/2012 09:29:44 am

I learned in depth information about computers, how they are made, programmed, and work using the internet. The presentations were all good, short, and easy to follow.

Reply
Kristen Ditsler
6/27/2012 09:30:10 am

I learned a lot about computers and technology. I thought the presentations were intersting because I didn't know there was so much involved in computer and technology. I liked the Scholatic website the best because I think it would be the most beneficial to my students.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2012

    Categories

    All